Diary Archive 2016

Fri 30th Dec

*Croydon Tram Route*

Meet at 11.30 at West Ham station(Jubilee Line), travel to London Bridge for the 12:10 to Clock House Station. Then Walk 0.4 miles to Pub

12:45: The Bricklayers Arms
237 High Street, Beckenham, BR3 1BN

194 or 358 bus to Beckenham Road tram stop, take the Tram to Blackhorse Lane tram stop, then Walk to Pub

14:00: The Joiners Arms
52 Woodside Green, South Norwood, SE25 5EU

Walk back to Blackhorse Lane tram stop, take the Tram one stop to Addiscombe tram stop, then Walk to Pub

15:00: The Claret Freehouse
5 Bingham Corner, Lower Addiscombe Rd, CR0 7AA

Walk back to Addiscombe tram stop, take the Tram to George Street tram stop, then Walk to Pub

16:30: The George
17-21 George Street, Croydon, CR0 1LA

Walk to next Pub

17:20: The Dog & Bull
24 Surrey Street, Croydon, CR0 1RG

Walk to next Pub

18:05: The Green Dragon
60 High Street, Croydon, CR0 1NA

Anne's Xmas Tram Crawl

Fri 23rd Dec

Leyton Orient Supporters Club
Oliver Rd, Leyton, E10 5NF


Open from 17.00
Featuring seasonal themed ales from Mighty Oak Brewery
Free admission
Snacks available
Free mince pies

Christmas Ale Gala Night

Tue 20th Dec

The Huntsman & Hounds
2 Ockenden Road, Upminster, RM14 2DN


From 19.30 for 20.00
Meal must be pre-booked, but anyone can attend the social. Check our Main Page for details

Christmas Dinner & Social

Thu 15th Dec

The Travellers Friend
496-498 High Road, Woodford Green, IG8 0PN


From 20.30

Social Evening

Wed 7th Dec

The Traitors' Gate
40-42 Broadway, Little Thurrock, Grays, RM17 6EW


From 20.30

Social Evening

Sat 3rd Dec

South Benfleet Social Club
8 Vicarage Hill, Benfleet, SS7 1PB


Open 12.00 - 00.00
SE Essex Branch Club of the Year
Non members welcome
Food available
Branch visit from 12.00

SBSC Ale & Cider Festival

Tue 29th Nov - Sat 3rd Dec

The Round Chapel
1d Glenarm Road (at Lower Clapton Road junction) E5 OLY


Admission - £3 CAMRA Members, £5.00 Non-Members
Expected to be free for SW Essex Branch Members ONLY on 30th Nov (Mention you are from SW Essex when presenting your CAMRA Membership Card)
Open 12.00 - 23.00 Tue - Sat
Branch visit Wed 30th Nov from 19.30

33rd Pigs Ear Beer Festival

Tue 22nd - Sat 26th Nov

The Freight House
Bradley Way, Rochford, SS4 1BU


200+ Real Ales, 50 Ciders & Perries - Foreign/Bottled Beers
Free admission at all times
Open 19.30 - 22.45 Tue/12.00 - 22.45 Wed - Sat
Branch visit Wed 23rd Nov from 20.00
Seating in the heated marquee
Food available all sessions

37th SE ESSEX Beer & Cider Festival

Tue 15th Nov

*Rainham & Dagenham*

20.00: The Phoenix
Broadway, Rainham, RM13 9YW


21.30: The Eastbrook
Dagenham Rd, RM10 7UP

Double Header Social

Fri 11th Nov

Leyton Orient Supporters Club
Oliver Rd, Leyton, E10 5NF


From 19.00
A selection of lesser known ales from London based breweries
Free admission
Snacks available

Cockney Pride - London Ale Night

Wed 9th Nov

The White Hart
Kings Walk/Argent St, Grays RM17 6HR


From 20.30

Social Evening

Tue 1st Nov

Upminster Taproom
1b Sunnyside Gardens, Upminster, RM14 3DT


From 20.30
Staying open later than the usual advertised closing time

Social Evening

Wed 26th Oct

The Victoria Arms
50 Ongar Road, Brentwood, CM15 9EB


From 20.30

Social Evening

Fri 21st Oct

Leyton Orient Supporters Club
Oliver Rd, Leyton E10 5NF


From 19.00
Brew Buddies Brewery Beers
Free admission
Snacks available

Tap Takeover & Meet The Brewer

Wed 19th Oct

The Ship
93 Main Road, Gidea Park, RM2 5EL


From 20.30

Social Evening

Tue 11th Oct

*Hackney*

20.00: The Pembury Tavern
90 Amhurst Road, Hackney, E8 1JH


21.30: The Cock Tavern
315 Mare Street, Hackney, E8 1EJ

Out-Of-Area Double Header Social

Thu 6th - Sat 8th Oct

Village Hall
Hullbridge Road, CM3 5PL


35+ Real Ales, 8 Ciders & Perrys & foreign beers
Food available
Open 16.00 - 23.00 Thu; 12.00 - 23.00 Fri-Sat
Branch visit Thu 6th Oct from 19.00
Free Admission for card-carrying CAMRA members, £1 Non Members
Live Music Sat evening
Souvenir Glass

5th South Woodham Ferrers Beer Festival

Thu 29th Sep - Tue 4th Oct

Edinburgh
By train from London Kings Cross


Staying at The White Lady (Wetherspoon), Edinburgh

Branch Weekend

Wed 21st Sep

*Hornchurch*

20.00: The Fatling
109 High Street, Hornchurch, RM11 1TX


21.30: JJ Moon's
46–62 High Street, Hornchurch, RM12 4UN

Double Header Social

Tue 13th Sep

The Foxhound
18 High Road, Orsett, RM16 3ER


From 20.30

Social Evening

Tue 6th - Sat 10th Sep

Chappel Beer Festival
East Anglian Railway Museum, Chappel & Wakes Colne Station, CO6 2DS


Off the A1124 between Colchester & Halstead, nr Chappel viaduct
400+ beers plus a selection of ciders, perrys & foreign beers
Food available
Open 17.30 - 23.00 Tue; 11.00 - 23.00 Wed, Thu & Sat; 11.00 - 17.30 & 17.30 - 23.00 Fri [Fri evening TICKET ONLY - purchased in advance, but those arriving before 17.30 can stay all evening]
Branch visit Tue 6th Sep from 19.00
Free Admission for card-carrying CAMRA or EARM members, except Fri Eve TICKET ONLY £5 including £3 refundable glass
Late trains with London (& Romford) connection at Marks Tey
Staff Reqd, contact Graham Darby, email: Graham@grahamdarby.com or phone: 07753 266983

30th Chappel Beer Festival

Wed 31st Aug

The Barking Dog
61 Station Parade, Barking, IG11 8TU


Wetherspoon

Social Evening

Wed 24th - Sat 27th Aug

St. James's Hall
Tower Road, Clacton, CO15 1LE


70+ real ales, ciders, perries, Essex wines, and Belgian and other International beers
Admission Times: 18.00 - 23.00 Wed / 11.00 - 23.00 Thu/Fri/Sat
Free entry to CAMRA Members, Non-Members £2.50 non-music sessions / £3.50 music sessions
Branch visit Sat 27th from 12.00

21st Clacton-on-Sea Beer Festival

Wed 24th Aug

The Colley Rowe Inn
54-56 Collier Row Rd, RM5 3PA


Wetherspoon


Pub of the Year London Area Presentation

Social Evening

Fri 19th Aug

Leyton Orient Supporters Club
Oliver Rd, Leyton E10 5NF


Tap Takeover and Meet the Brewer

Pig & Porter Brewery Beers

Wed 17th Aug

The Rising Sun
Church Hill, Stanford-le-Hope, SS17 0EU


From 20.30

Social Evening

Tue 9th - Sat 13th Aug

Olympia London
Hammersmith Road, Kensington, London, W14 8UX


900+ Real Ales, Ciders, Perrys & Foreign Beers


Admission Times: 17.00 - 22.00 Tues / Noon - 22.00 Wed,Thu,Fri / 11.00 - 18.30 Sat


Advance Day Tickets - £9 CAMRA Members, £11 Non-Members


Branch visit Tue 9th Aug from 19.00

Great British Beer Festival

Wed 3rd Aug

The Travellers Friend
496-498 High Road, Woodford Green, IG8 0PN


From 20.30

Social Evening

Fri 29th Jul - Sun 31st Jul

Epping Ongar Railway
North Weald Station, CM16 6BT


60 Real Ales & 20 Real Ciders


Tickets £12 for CAMRA Members (£13 others) include all-day travel on Vintage Buses & Trains


Tickets can be purchased on the Buses, at the stations or in advance from their website


Branch visit Sat 30th


By Vintage Bus 339 or 381 from Epping Station or Bus 339 from Shenfield Station

EOR 4th Summer Real Ale Festival

Tue 19th Jul

The Huntsman & Hounds
2 Ockenden Road, Upminster, RM14 2DN


Ember Inns

Social Evening

Sat 16th Jul

*Dengie*

Meet at Romford for the 12.28 to Wickford then change to the 12.56 to Battlesbridge

13.10: One Green Bottle
Muggeridge Farm, Maltings Road, SS11 7RF

14.55: Tap Room (Wibblers Brewery)
Goldsands Road, CM0 7JW

16.20: Station Arms
39 Station Road, CM0 7EW

18.05: Tap Room 19 (Crouch Vale Brewery)
19 Haltwhistle Road, CM3 5ZA

Dengie Micropub Crawl

Fri 15th Jul

Craft Beer Co.
168 High Holborn, WC1V 7AA


From 20.30

Out of Area Social

Tue 5th Jul - Sat 9th Jul

Admirals Park
Rainsford Road, Chelmsford, CM1 2PL


Open: 12.00 – 23.00 each day


Free Tue - Fri before 17.30 / £4 Tue - Thu after 17.30 / £5 Fri after 17.30 / £1 Sat all day


Free at all times to card carrying CAMRA members


Branch visits Tue 5th Jul from 19.30 AND Sat 9th Jul from 12.00


Hot & cold food available


Varied entertainment all week


Pre-booked tutored tasting sessions

38th Chelmsford Summer Beer Festival

Wed 29th Jun

*Brentwood*

20.00: The Robin
Ongar Road / Warescot Road, CM15 9EB

20.45: The Rising Sun
144 Ongar Road, CM15 9DJ

21.30: The Victoria Arms
50 Ongar Road, CM15 9EB

22.15: Spread Eagle
88 Queens Road / Coptfold Road, CM14 4HD

Brentwood Mini-Crawl

Wed 22nd Jun

The Ardleigh
124 Ardleigh Green Road, Hornchurch, RM11 2SH


Ember Inns

Social Evening

Mon 13th Jun

Theobald Arms
141 Argent St, Grays, RM17 6HR


POTY Essex Area Presentation

Social Evening

Thu 9th Jun - Sat 11th Jun

Bocking Arts Theatre
15 Bocking End, Braintree, CM7 9AE


Open: 3pm - 11pm Thur / 12 noon - 11pm Fri / 11am - 10pm Sat


Entry FREE to card-carrying CAMRA Members, others Free before 4pm - £2 thereafter


Branch visit Thu 9th Jun from 20.00


Hot food available

Braintree Real Ale Festival

Tue 7th Jun - Sat 11th Jun

Thurrock Civic Hall
Blackshots Lane, Grays, RM16 2JU


120+ Real Ales, 20+ Ciders & Perrys, Meads & English Country Wines


Open 12.00-15.00; 18.00-23.00 (Tue - Fri); 12.00-19.00 (Sat)


Admission Free Tue - Fri lunchtimes, £1 Tue/Wed eves, £2 Thu eve, £4 Fri eve, £2 Sat all day


Free at all times to card carrying CAMRA members


Branch visit Wed 8th Jun from 19.30


Hot & cold food available


Outdoor drinking/smoking area


Entertainment Thu & Fri eves, Sat afternoon


Volunteers required, contact phone number: 07960 969462


Nearest bus stop - the 'Oak' at Socketts Heath

Thurrock Beer Festival

Tue 31st May - Sat 4th Jun

Colchester Arts Centre
Church Street, Colchester, CO1 1NF (off Head Street)


Open: 12 noon – 11pm every day


120+ beers plus a selection of ciders & perrys, Belgian bar offering draught and bottled Belgian Beers, English wines from Mersea Island Vineyard


Soft drinks will be available, free to designated drivers


Food available


Entry FREE to card-carrying CAMRA Members, others Free 12 noon-3pm, £3.00 thereafter


Branch visit Wed 1st Jun from 19.30


Accompanied children welcome until 6.30pm


Commemorative Festival Glass £3 (refundable)


Full wheelchair access

31st Colchester Beer Festival

Wed 25th May

Fatling
109 High Street, Hornchurch, RM11 1TX


Fatling & Firkin

Social Evening

Wed 18th May

Hutton Junction
15 Rayleigh Road, Hutton, CM13 1AB


Punch Taverns

Social Evening

Sat 14th May

*St Albans*


Meet at the Wetherspoons on Barking station at 10.30 for breakfast, leaving in time for the 11.24 from Barking


Travel on the 12.08 train from Blackfriars to St Albans City (arrive 12.38)
NOTE - This train also calls at City Thameslink (12.10) Farringdon (12.14) St Pancras Int (12.18)

The Mermaid
98 Hatfield Road, AL1 3RL

then a short walk to

White Hart Tap
4 Keyfield Terrace, AL1 1QJ

then a short walk to

The Garibaldi
61 Albert Street, AL1 1RT

then a short walk to

The White Lion
91 Sopwell Lane, AL1 1RN

then a short walk to

The Farmer's Boy
134 London Road, AL1 1PQ


If anyone then feels the need to take some beer home, opposite is -

Beer:shop
71 London Road, AL1 1LN


Timings not shown, as the length of time in each pub depends on how much fun we're having!
Anyone not able to make the start and wants to join en-route, contact Steve - 07984 638377


Click Here to see a map of the crawl

Steve's St Albans pub crawl

Wed 4th May

JJ Moon's
48/52 High Street, Hornchurch, RM12 4UN


JD Wetherspoon

Social Evening

Thu 28th Apr

Upminster TapRoom
1b Sunnyside Gardens, Upminster, RM14 3DT


1st Micropub in Upminster, Havering & East London
Anne Radley's birthday

Social Evening

Wed 20th Apr

The White Hart
Kings Walk, Grays, RM17 6HR


India Inns

Branch AGM

Mon 11th Apr

The Chequers
2 High Street, Barkingside, IG6 2DD


Opus Bars

Social Evening

Wed 6th Apr

Leyton Technical
265b High Road, Leyton, E10 5QN


Operated by Antic
6 Real Ales
Denise Rooney's birthday

Out of Area Social

Thu 31st Mar - Mon 4th Apr

Liverpool Guild of Students
160 Mount Pleasant Road, Liverpool, L3 5TR


Brewery Visit to Connoissseur (St Helens) on Fri eve
Brewery Visit to Parker (Southport) on Sat eve

National AGM & Conference

Fri 25th Mar - Sat 26th Mar

Winter Gardens
Fort Crescent, Margate, CT9 1HX


200 Real Ales, Cider & Perry, bottled beers
Open Fri 12.00-21.30, Sat 12.00-20.00
Admission Fri £5, Sat £3, Free for card carrying CAMRA members both days including fast track at busy times
Children accompanied by an adult welcome until 19.00
Branch visit Good Friday 25th Mar from 12.00
Hot & Cold food, Live music
By 'Javelin' high speed train from Stratford International
GroupSave Train Tickets: 3 or more travelling together get a third off the fare

11th Planet Thanet Easter Beer Festival

Thu 24th Mar

Leyton Orient Supporters Club
Oliver Road, Leyton, E10 5NF


Franklins Beers
Free Admission, snacks available
From 19.30

Out of Area Social & Easter Ale Gala

Wed 16th Mar

The Two Brewers
57 Lambourne Road, Chigwell Row, IG7 6ET


Home Counties Restaurant Group

Social Evening

Fri 11th Mar - Sun 13th Mar

Tyrrell's Hall Club
67 Dock Rd, Grays, RM17 6EY


12 Real Ales, 3 Ciders, Country Wines & Bar Snacks
Open Fri & Sat 12.00-23.30, Sun 12.00-22.30
Free entry, membership not required for festival
Branch visit Fri 11th Mar from 19.30
Live Entertainment every day
On the 66 bus route from Lakeside, Grays station, Tilbury, Chadwell

Tyrrell's Hall Club Annual Beer Festival

Wed 9th Mar - Sat 12th Mar

Waltham Forest S&S Club
Town Hall Complex, Forest Road, Walthamstow, E17 4JF


18 Real Ales & Food
Open Wed & Thu 12.00-23.00, Fri 12.00-00.00, Sat 12.00-17.30
Free entry, but £3 from 19.00 Fri for non-Club or CAMRA members
Branch visit Wed 9th Mar from 19.00
Sat 12th £2 a pint for festival ales while stocks last!
Friday Live Music

16th Waltham Forest S&S Club Beer Festival

Sat 5th Mar

*Maldon, Essex*

By bus from Chelmsford Station to Maldon

13.00: Farmers Yard (micro pub)
140 High Street, Maldon, CM9 5BX

then a short walk to

14.30: Rose & Crown
109 High Street, Maldon, CM9 5EP

then another short walk to

16.00: Mighty Oak Tap Room (micro pub)
10 High Street, Maldon, CM9 5PJ

All timings are approximate

Maldon High Street pub crawl

Wed 2nd Mar - Fri 4th Mar

Camden Centre
Bidborough Street, Kings Cross, WC1H 9AU


150 Real Ales, Cider, Perry, Imported Beers, Food
Open 12.00-15.00 & 17.00-22.30 Wed & Thu, 12.00-22.30 Fri
Opposite St Pancras International Station, entrance in Bidborough St
Branch visit Wed 2nd Mar from 19.30
Admission Free Wed & Thu lunchtimes, £3 for card carrying CAMRA members at other times, £4 for non members at other times

32nd London Drinker Beer Festival

Fri 26th Feb - Sat 27th Feb

Chappel Winter Beer Festival
East Anglian Railway Museum, Chappel & Wakes Colne Station, CO6 2DS


Off the A1124 between Colchester & Halstead, nr Chappel viaduct
60+ beers plus a selection of ciders & perrys
Food available
Open 11.00 - 23.00 both days [Fri evening after 17.00 TICKET ONLY - purchased in advance, but those arriving before 17.30 can stay all evening]
Branch visit Sat 27th Feb from 12.00
Admission £3 (Glass extra), Fri Eve TICKET ONLY £7 including £3 refundable glass
Free Admission for card-carrying CAMRA or EARM members, except Fri Eve TICKET ONLY £3 including £3 refundable glass
Due to engineering works, travel by rail replacement buses from Romford to Ingatestone, then by train

7th Chappel Winter Beer Festival

Wed 24th Feb

The Rising Sun
144 Ongar Rd, Brentwood, CM15 9DJ


From 20.30

GBG Selection & Social Evening

Mon 22nd Feb

The Cricketers
299/301 High Road, Woodford Green, IG8 9HQ


McMullens

Social Evening

Wed 17th - Sat 20th Feb

King Edward VI Grammar School
Broomfield Road, CM1 3SX


Open 12.00-23.00
150+ real ales, over 50 Real Ciders, Perries & Pyders
LocAle bar and local wines from Felsted Vineyard
Hot & cold food, and soft drinks available at all times
Branch visit Wed 17th from 17.30
Central location, only 5 minutes walk from Bus and Railway Stations


***There are major railway engineering works on Sat 20th. Please check your travel arrangements carefully***

Chelmsford Winter Beer & Cider Fest

Mon 15th Feb

Upminster TapRoom
1b Sunnyside Gardens, Upminster, RM14 3DT


From 20.30

Social Evening

Thu 11th Feb

*Gidea Park & Romford*

20.00: The Ship
93 Main Road, Gidea Park, RM2 5EL


21.30: The Golden Lion
2 High Street/North Street, Romford, RM1 1HR

Double Header Social

Mon 8th Feb

*Horndon-On-The-Hill & Orsett*

20.00: The Bell Inn
High Road, Horndon-On-The_Hill, SS17 8LD


21.30: The Foxhound
18 High Road, Orsett, RM16 3ER

Double Header Social

Fri 5th Feb

Maison Dieu (Town Hall)
Biggin Street, Dover, Kent, CT16 1DL


Open 13.00-23.00
Admission free to card-carrying CAMRA members, otherwise £5
75+ winter/strong ales (none less than 5% ABV), mostly from small independents & micro breweries
All beers £3 a pint
Food available (no food to be brought in & consumed)
By 'Javelin' high speed train from Stratford International at 11.44 in just 57 mins (take the DLR from West Ham/Stratford to Stratford International)
Group Train Tickets: Discounts for 3 or more travelling together

23rd White Cliffs' Winter Ales Fest

Tue 2nd Feb

*Herongate Tye & Great Warley*

20.00: The Olde Dog Inn
Billericay Road, Herongate Tye, CM13 3SB


21.30: The Thatchers Arms
Warley Road, Great Warley, CM13 3HU

Double Header Social

Mon 25th Jan

*Rainham & Dagenham*

20.00: The Phoenix
The Broadway, Rainham, RM13 9YW


21.30: Eastbrook
Dagenham Road, Romford, RM10 7UP

Double Header Social

Wed 20th Jan

*Little Thurrock*

20.00: The Ship
The Broadway, Dock Road, Little Thurrock, RM17 6EX


21.30: Traitors' Gate
40-42 Broadway, Little Thurrock, RM17 6EW

Double Header Social

Tue 12th Jan

The Mawney Arms
44 Mawney Road, Romford, RM7 7HT


Ember Inns

Branch 40th Anniversary Social Evening

Sat 9th Jan

The White Hart
Kings Walk, Grays, RM17 6HR


From 19.30

Branch 40th Anniversary Party

Mon 4th Jan

*Collier Row & Romford*

20.00: Colley Rowe Inn
54-56 Collier Row Road, Collier Row, RM5 3PA


21.30: The Moon and Stars
99-103 South Street, Romford, RM1 1NX

Double Header Social